Exclusive: U.S. won't issue some visas in four nations in deportation crackdown


President Donald Trump’s effort to crack down on immigrants who are in the United States illegally.
In Guinea , the United States will no longer issue a range of tourist, business and student visas to government officials and their immediate family members who apply from inside the country, another cable said.
Only Foreign Ministry employees at or above the rank of director general, and their families, who apply inside the country will be barred from getting some visas for personal travel, a third cable said.
The new rules, which go into effect on Wednesday, do not affect visas that already have been granted.
Visa sanctions are allowed by U.S. immigration law to punish countries that refuse to accept their citizens back from the United States.
Acting Department of Homeland Security Secretary Elaine Duke sent a letter to the State Department last month identifying the four countries as ones that could face penalties.
DHS officials say in some cases, the agency has had no choice but to release convicted criminals who served prison time but could not be returned to their home country because it refused to take them back.
The Trump administration has made it a priority to pressure reluctant countries to take back their citizens.
As of July, the 12 nations deemed “recalcitrant” were China, Cuba, Vietnam, Laos, Iran, Cambodia, Burma, Morocco, Hong Kong, South Sudan, Guinea and Eritrea.
According to 2016 congressional testimony by Michele Bond, former assistant secretary of state for consular affairs, Cuba was the “most recalcitrant country on repatriation of its nationals,” although she did not give numbers.
To read the full article click on the link below:

Add comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments